Why can’t I delete a client that has advance payments?
You can’t delete a client as long as they have advance payment invoices, even if these invoices are deleted and in the Trash, because a deleted invoice stays in the Trash for 90 days and can be restored during that time. When you try to delete the client, this message appears: The client couldn’t be deleted. Please make sure all client’s transactions are removed, including those in the trash., with links to the invoices, credit notes and refunds trash.
To delete the client
- Delete the client’s advance payment invoices. If an advance payment is distributed on sales invoices, the system asks you to confirm the deletion, and after the deletion its distribution on these invoices is removed.
- Click the invoice trash link in the message; the Trash opens filtered by the client.
- Choose Permanent Delete for each of the client’s invoices, and repeat this in the credit notes trash and refunds trash if they have transactions there.
- Delete the client.
🛈
Notes:
- Permanent deletion can’t be undone. If you don’t delete the invoice permanently, the system deletes it automatically 90 days after it was deleted.
- You can’t delete an advance payment that has a credit note, or if the e-invoice app is enabled.